Spectacular ceremony to award EUSA’s best

The magnificent Teatro Aveirense in the picturesque city of Aveiro, Portugal played host to an entertaining annual EUSA Awards Ceremony on Friday, September 27.

Organised by EUSA in conjunction with hosts FADU – the Portuguese University Sport Federation – the prestigious event served to recognise the stand-out achievements of individuals, universities and associations who excelled in EUSA events over 2018.

With the occasion marking the 20th anniversary of EUSA, there were also special awards given to those who have particularly excelled over the past decade.

Over 150 participants were present at the beautifully-decorated Teatro Aveirense including EUSA’s member associations, partners, invited guests and local university authorities, many of whom had been part of the EUSA General Assembly earlier in the day.


The first award of the evening was the most successful National University Sports Association (NUSA) award, which was handed to the French University Sport Federation for the results achieved by their universities at the 2018 European Universities Games. Mr Jean-François Sautereau, French University Sport Federation President, was in attendance to receive the award.

Best NUSA 2018

The next award was handed to FADU, the Portuguese Academic Federation of University Sport, who were recognised as the Most Active NUSA for 2018 following their organisation of last year’s Games in Coimbra, with FADU Portugal President Mr Daniel Monteiro receiving the award.

Most Active NUSA 2018

Based on the sports achievements and results achieved at the 2018 European Universities Games, the University of Coimbra from Portugal won the Best University Award for 2018, the vice-rector of the University of Coimbra Mr António Figueiredo and the president of the Academic Association of Coimbra Mr Daniel Azenha both picking up the accolade.

Best University 2018

Both Mr Figueiredo and Mr Azenha were both soon on stage once more after the University of Coimbra was named the Most Active University of 2018 for their participation in last year’s Games.

Most Active University 2018

The next award given on the night was the Enno Harms Fair Play Award, given for a fair play gesture or situation during a EUSA sporting event which stood out above the rest. For their selflessness at last year’s Games, the Red Cross were named the worthy recipients of this award, with Coimbra Red Cross representative Mr Gonçalo Orfão receiving the accolade.

Enno Harms Fair Play Award

A Special Acknowledgement Award was then handed to Mr Ricardo Morgado, a member of the European Universities Games 2018 Organising Committee, for the organisation’s dedication and success in hosting the Games last year.

Special recognition

Four Order of Merits were then awarded to three individuals and one institution who, through their involvement and commitment, gave significant contribution to the development and promotion of university sport in Europe in 2018.

Order of Merit: Joao Gabriel Silva

Two award winners were recognised in absentia, including Mr Janez Kocijancic, President of the European Olympic Committees and Mr Yves Le Lostecque, Head of the European Commission’s Sport Unit, while former Rector of the University of Coimbra Mr João Gabriel Silva  and on behalf of the University of Coimbra its Vice-Rector Mr António Figueiredo, were present to receive their awards.

Order of Merit: University of Coimbra

The three biggest awards of the night were saved for last: the awards for those who have especially excelled over the past decade, from 2009-2019.

EUSA’s Most Successful NUSA over the last 10-year period, based on most points received for their activity, including organisation, participation and success, was a final showdown between the French University Sport Federation (FFSU), German University Sports Federation (ADH) and Portuguese Academic Federation of University Sport (FADU), with the German University Sports Federation being named the eventual winner.

Best NUSA 2009-2019

University of Coimbra, University of Minho (Portugal) and University of Zagreb (Croatia) were all in line for EUSA’s Best University Award, based on the final standings and in accordance with the EUSA points system, over the past ten years, and in the end, the University of Minho was named the winner.

Best University 2009-2019

The final award of the evening was a special Order of Merit given to an individual who has shown extraordinary support and unmatched devotion to university sport over the past decade, with FISU President Mr Oleg Matytsin the worthy recipient of this award.

Order of Merit 2009-2019

A number of traditional cultural and magical performances and dances were included in the evening’s proceedings, adding to the night's entertainment.

Cultural and entertainment programme

A gala dinner at the University of Aveiro concluded the evening, making it a truly memorable and enjoyable EUSA 20-year celebration.

FADU and EUSA Presidents at the Gala